Shield named AFC Referee of the Year Print E-mail
Written by FFA   
Wednesday, 28 November 2007 23:00
Mark Shield

Mark Shield has made it a one-two for Australian match official's in 2007, after taking out the AFC Referee of the Year award at a glittering ceremony at the Hordern Pavilion in Sydney overnight.

Australia has now produced the leading male and female referees for 2007, after Tammy Ogston, won the female equivalent last month. Tammy made history after refereeing the final of the 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup, between Germany and Brazil in September.

Shield refereed the final of the AFC Asian Cup 2007, between Iraq and Saudi Arabia in July and has already officiated at two World Cup finals.

In the main award of the night, Saudi Arabia striker Yasser Al Qahtani was crowned the AFC Player of the Year 2007.

Qahtani was joint-top scorer and skippered his side to the final of the AFC Asian Cup 2007 and finished ahead of Iraq pair Younis Mahmoud and Nashat Akram.

Former UEFA president Lennart Johansson, was awarded the highest individual accolade of AFC Diamond of Asia, for his contribution in developing Asian football, while he was head of UEFA.

Last Updated on Friday, 29 February 2008 11:21